Sub-series 12 - Land Title Transfers

Identity area

Reference code



Land Title Transfers


  • 1879-1905 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

24 files

Context area

Name of creator


Biographical history

Thomas Sheehy (1840-1913) was a solicitor, barrister and proctor of Collins Street, Hobart. He was a younger son of John and Ellen Sheehy of Hobart and in 1860 was articled to his brother Stephen (d. 1879), a solicitor, and was admitted in 1865.
As a member of a leading Catholic family and brother of a priest, Thomas Sheehy had many Catholics among his clients. His business records include a letter book, diaries noting consultations and actions taken, drafts of documents, notes and apprenticeship indentures.

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Memoranda of transfers of land titles and registration at Lands Titles Office:-

  1. Robert Barnett to John Gregory Edwards, 8 p. Hobart 1901.
  2. Henry John Buckland to Matthew O'Shaughnessy 1879, Hamilton: 8 ac. 5 p.
  3. James Isaac Lepitit Cameron & Susan Palmable Cameron his wife, to William Douglas Laing 36 p. in Queenborough 1906.
  4. George Coombe to Alexander McA. Johnston per Alfred Harrap 1892 Campbell Town.
  5. Louisa Crane to Robert Daly, 25 ac. Longley 1900.
  6. John Dally to Job Dally 1894.
  7. James Dillon to Virginia Ebdon 1882.
  8. Sarah Dillon to James Geappen, Hobart 1884.
  9. Edward Dowling to Thomas Dowling 1893.
  10. Joseph Feltham to William Douglas Laing, Hobart 1904.
  11. Martin Goram to Michael Spohn 1886.
  12. James Gunton to Martial Louis Frederic Mary 1888. Branxholm: 15 ac. to M.L.F. Mary, Catholic Chaplain, inc. letter from Fr. Mary.
  13. John Hager to William John Dunne 1881. Waratah: 34 p. to W.J. Dunne, Catholic Chaplain and others.
  14. Peter Harrington to John Scammell, St. Helens 1882-86.
  15. William Hawkins to Charles McMahan, Honeywood 1882.
  16. Vernon William Hookey to Julia Develyn, Cygnet 1884.
  17. Mary Ellen Innis to John Charles Williams 1888.
  18. William Henry Kellow to Isabella Kellow 1893.
  19. William Langford to William Pearson, Hobart 1890-94.
  20. Robert P. & George P. Roberts to William Douglas Laing 1904.
  21. Thomas Sheehy to Walter Lewis 1898.
  22. Joseph Sidwell to William Douglas Laing 1903.
  23. William Sullivan to John Sullivan 1898.
  24. Fr. Van der Heyden to Thomas Kelsh 1905. Derby: land near Catholic Church from Fr. Van der Heyden, Catholic priest, formerly of Derby, Tasmania, now residing at North Brabant, Netherlands, to Rev. T. Kelsh of Westbury and others, Governors of St. Joseph's Orphanage.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access


Conditions governing reproduction

This material is made available for personal research and study purposes under the University of Tasmania Standard Copyright Licence. For any further use permission should be obtained from the copyright owners. For assistance please contact

When reusing this material, please cite the reference number and provide the following acknowledgement:
“Courtesy of the UTAS Library Special & Rare Collections”

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Original inventory and descriptive notes can be found at

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

CE September 2018




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places