Collection RS134 - Letter written by George Martin

Index to RS134

Identity area

Reference code



Letter written by George Martin


  • 1836 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1 file

Context area

Name of creator


Biographical history

George Martin (1778 – 1842) was born in England. He married Mary Brett in 1817 when he was 39 and she was 22. By 1835 Mary had given birth to eleven children, three of whom did not survive past infancy. In 1836 he was captain of the 105 ton schooner John Pirie the smallest of the ships in the First Fleet of South Australia that carried colonists and supplies to the Colony of South Australia as well as settlements at Launceston, Hobart Town and Sydney. For more information see:

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Presented to the Royal Society of Tasmania by Alfred S. Walker, 1956

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Letter written by George Martin to 'My dearest Mary' (his wife) and a copy of a 'location' extract of a grant of 800 acres.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

This material is made available for personal research and study purposes under the University of Tasmania Standard Copyright Licence. For any further use permission should be obtained from the copyright owners. For assistance please contact

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion





Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places